Its National Championship Eclipseversary Day!


Glad to see the boys are rolling up to the Natty with proper protective eyewear! Be careful out there today, people!

So, here we go … the National Championship tips off tonight at 9:20 PM. Vegas has UConn as 6 1/2 point favorites. (Shohei Ohtani’s translator recommends giving the points)

With that 9:20 PM start time, the Commish is DEFINITELY going to need to get in a nap today if I want any chance of staying up for the game. Good thing I’m taking PTO today. No, not so I can take a nap. Or to see the eclipse.

Nope. While I will be both taking a nap and checking out the eclipse, I’m pretty sure this will be me by the end of the day:

No, aside from it being the National Championship game and the eclipse, today is also my and Mrs. Commish’s 35th wedding anniversary! Or “The Eclipseversary” as many people are calling it. I mean, credit to Mrs. Commish for sticking it out with me for three and a half decades. Not bad, considering she was one of my R.A.’s in college our senior year and caused me to end up on probation when she broke up a keg party of mine. Not that I’m still salty about it or anything. Whatever, it’s all water under the bridge and, besides, I’ve long since forgiven her. But that’s just the type of guy I am though … selfless to a fault. Oh, and humble too.

For those who are curious, here’s a pic of the darling couple from their happy day 35 years ago:

The Commish … ready for the eclipse since ’89

(And, yes, I used to have a full head of hair, smart guy.)

As a reminder, here is how the G.A.M.M. standings shape up heading into tonight, with Alex Johnson and longtime participant, Emily “going to the” Chapple, squaring off for 1st place:

Once again, here is what’s at stake tonight for our contenders:

  • 1st Place – $1,920 (60%)
  • 2nd Place – $960 (30%)
  • 3rd Place –  $320 (10%)

Speaking of money, I’d like to thank all those who’ve seen fit to #TipTheCommish by contributing to The Commish’s Beer Fund this year.

It was very generous of all of you (even Lucas Sagraves!) and it’s always rewarding to know my work over the last couple of weeks has been appreciated. If our top 3 finishers also want to show their appreciation, well, I’ve never been one to turn down a gratuity.

And, on that note, I’m out!

The Commish

You know you make me wanna shout!

Leave a comment