UConn & Purdue roll into the National Championship Game!


I created that AI image before they even released the bracket this year. I was fooling around trying to figure out how to use it and thought there was a pretty decent chance it was going to come down to UConn and Purdue. Didn’t even try any other match-ups, and here we are.

Yeah, yeah … I know, “Commish, if you’re so smart, why did you have Creighton over Auburn on your bracket then, you idiot?” Well, first of all, “idiot” is kind of harsh. Accurate, but harsh. Second of all, because EVERYBODY was going to have some version of UConn and Purdue in the finals on their bracket and so I took a flyer on a completely different scenario to try and break away from the pack. Look, I agreed I’m an idiot, okay?

In the first game last night, Purdue jumped out to an early lead and never looked back, knocking off NC State by a score of 63-50. NC State hung around for awhile, but you never really got the sense they were going to pull off the comeback. Very sloppy game from start to finish, with tons of missed shots and turnovers. Purdue is going to need to clean some of that stuff up if they want to have a chance vs UConn on Monday night.

Not that UConn didn’t have their own problems last night, as Alabama gave them their first test of the tournament. The Huskies could only manage a slim 4 point lead at the half before pulling away for the 86-72 win. The 14 point margin of victory was UConn’s smallest of the tournament thus far.

When all was said and done, here’s is how the standings shape up heading into Monday night:

If Purdue wins, Alex Johnson, Sam Lubbers, and Mike McCormack finish in the money, and if UConn wins, Emily Chapple, Mark Davis, and GAMM HOF’er and 2 time champ, Chris McGurrin, end up on top.

(Looking at that second linked page for Chris McGurrin from 2008 makes me sad. All my images I had embedded in my posts from back then are now gone. I think I used to use Image Shack to host them and they went out of business or something, and so I lost all my images. Those sonzabitchez).

I’m sure Alex, Sam, Mike, Emily, Mark, and C-Mac are all well aware of what the payouts are, but here they are once again:

1st Place – $1,920 (60%)
2nd Place – $960 (30%)
3rd Place – $320 (10%)

In addition to the National Championship, as you may have heard, tomorrow is also the eclipse. The Commish, ever the customer service oriented individual, has put together the definitive “Eclipse Playlist” for you. So, here ya go:

You’re welcome.

Speaking of music, the other day I mentioned how longtime participant, Michael Marcagi, cracked the Billboard Top 100 with his single “Scared to Start.” Well, get this, he’s now opening for the Dave Matthews Band in June!

https://davematthewsband.com/news/articles/alpine-valley-2024-support

Congrats, Michael!

Commish out!

Leave a comment